poster of One Step Beyond
Rating: 5.6/10 by 12 users

One Step Beyond (1959)

Alcoa Presents: One Step Beyond is an American anthology series created by Merwin Gerard. The original series ran for three seasons on ABC from January 1959 to July 1961.

Release Date: Tue, Jan 20, 1959

Country: US
Language: En
Runtime: 30

John Newland
Self - Host

Season 3:

Tidal Wave
Episode 1: Tidal Wave (Aug 30, 1960)
As a tidal wave approaches the Hawaiian Islands, the wheelchair-bound wife of a Naval engineer desperately tries to find someone to help her evacuate the doomed area. Nothing can save the poor young women – accept perhaps the strange and illusive phenomenon known as . . . telepathy.
Anniversary of a Murder
Episode 2: Anniversary of a Murder (Sep 27, 1960)
In the midst of an adulterous relationship, a successful business man and his mistress are driving home one night when they accidentally cause the death of young bicyclists on a lonely road. They desperately try to cover up the tragedy . . . but the dead man has other ideas . . .
The Death Waltz
Episode 3: The Death Waltz (Oct 04, 1960)
The Merry Widow?
The Return
Episode 4: The Return (Oct 11, 1960)
These were the swift to harry...
If You See Sally
Episode 5: If You See Sally (Oct 18, 1960)
Her brother dies, and she is blamed, so she departs.
Moment of Hate
Episode 6: Moment of Hate (Oct 25, 1960)
A woman believes she has the power to cause death by wishing it, and is placed under a psychiatrist's care.
To Know the End
Episode 7: To Know the End (Nov 01, 1960)
...is to cure the suspense; a woman envisions her husband transformed.
The Trap
Episode 8: The Trap (Nov 15, 1960)
Just before he falls asleep, a man is suddenly aware that there is another life that seems to be in direct conflict with his own. He is astounded to discover that he has stumbled upon what seems to be a parallel universe--one in which he also exists. but in not quite the same way he does in this one.
The Voice
Episode 9: The Voice (Nov 22, 1960)
Heard melodies are sweet, but those unheard Are sweeter. Keats
The Promise
Episode 10: The Promise (Nov 29, 1960)
But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep. Frost
Tonight at 12:17
Episode 11: Tonight at 12:17 (Dec 06, 1960)
An expectant mother envisions a plane crash with startling clarity.
Where Are They?
Episode 12: Where Are They? (Dec 13, 1960)
Stones fall on Chico, California; a man goes to Washington, D.C with effervescent tablets that turn water into fuel for automobiles.
Legacy of Love
Episode 13: Legacy of Love (Dec 20, 1960)
A romance of past and present.
Episode 14: Rendezvous (Dec 27, 1960)
A wife is notified that her husband, a Marine, has been lost at sea. However, she refuses to believe that he is dead and knows that he will return to her. Soon afterwards she is walking alone through a park when a would-be mugger approaches her, but he is scared off by the sudden appearance of what looks to be some sort of spirit.
The Executioner
Episode 15: The Executioner (Jan 03, 1961)
A Confederate soldier lost behind Union lines is framed for spying. His dog saves him even after death.
The Last Round
Episode 16: The Last Round (Jan 10, 1961)
A former heavyweight champion appears to save a boxing match during the blitz.
Dead Man's Tale
Episode 17: Dead Man's Tale (Jan 17, 1961)
A reporter makes a find in the Yukon.
The Sacred Mushroom
Episode 18: The Sacred Mushroom (Jan 24, 1961)
Andrija Puharich's expedition in search of the sacred mushroom, with the help of a brujo, and ESP tests before and after.
The Gift
Episode 19: The Gift (Jan 31, 1961)
Neither shadow of turning.
Person Unknown
Episode 20: Person Unknown (Feb 07, 1961)
In Mexico, an escaped convict hides out in a monastery. Unfortunately, it is on the night when the ghost of an Aztec warrior is said to roam the halls. When a murder is discovered later that night, he must prove that he not only didn't commit the murder, but that it was in fact committed by the ghostly warrior.
Night of Decision
Episode 21: Night of Decision (Feb 21, 1961)
General Washington doubts, but is saved.
The Stranger
Episode 22: The Stranger (Feb 28, 1961)
In a disaster, he comforts the survivors, and afterward is found to have died in prison some time before.
Episode 23: Justice (Mar 07, 1961)
Its long arm finally resolves an eyewitness and an alibi.
The Face
Episode 24: The Face (Mar 14, 1961)
Persistence of evil vision.
The Room Upstairs
Episode 25: The Room Upstairs (Mar 21, 1961)
A Londoner hears a child crying for help.
Signal Received
Episode 26: Signal Received (Apr 04, 1961)
On HMS Hood, ""England expects every man will do his duty.""
The Confession
Episode 27: The Confession (Apr 11, 1961)
The prosecution rests badly after an innocent man gets it.
The Avengers
Episode 28: The Avengers (Apr 25, 1961)
How the past determines the future.
The Prisoner
Episode 29: The Prisoner (May 02, 1961)
The survivor of a concentration camp receives a visit from a German officer who is dead.
Blood Flower
Episode 30: Blood Flower (May 16, 1961)
Flores, flores para los muertos.
The Sorcerer
Episode 31: The Sorcerer (May 23, 1961)
An army officer is acquitted of a murder he insists he committed.
The Villa
Episode 32: The Villa (Jun 06, 1961)
A room with a view.
Episode 33: Midnight (Jun 13, 1961)
While walking across a fog-covered London Bridge one night, a struggling writer falls in love with a beautiful woman he meets there. Howewver, she isn't quite what she seems to be, and he stands a good chance of succumbing--literally--to her charms.
The Tiger
Episode 34: The Tiger (Jun 20, 1961)
A stringent governess finds her charge cultivating an imaginary pet.
Episode 35: Nightmare (Jun 27, 1961)
Paul Roland keeps painting the image of a woman from his nightmares to the dismay of his fiancee. Six days before their wedding he is compelled to drive with her to Cornwall for a vacation, at the encouragement of his friend Geoffrey, with him stopping abruptly at the door of one cottage within which a woman dwells, one who has grieved the loss of her own fiance lost in the World War of '16, two days before their wedding was to have been. Apparently, Paul is his reincarnation since he was born when her fiance died as Paul instantly understands when he spies his likeness in that photograph on the mantle, the engagement picture. Now closure seems to happen for them all.
Eye Witness
Episode 36: Eye Witness (Jul 04, 1961)
A reportorial account of a distant disaster. Assez vu, assez connu.

My Favorite

Welcome back!

Support Us

Like Movienade?

Please buy us a coffee

scan qr code