poster of Alice
Rating: 6.5/10 by 32 users

Alice (1976)

Alice is an American sitcom television series that ran from August 31, 1976 to March 19, 1985 on CBS. The series is based on the 1974 film Alice Doesn't Live Here Anymore. The show stars Linda Lavin in the title role, a widow who moves with her young son to start her life over again, and finds a job working at a roadside diner on the outskirts of Phoenix, Arizona. Most of the episodes revolve around events at Mel's Diner.

Release Date: Tue, Aug 31, 1976

Country: US
Language: En
Runtime: 30

Linda Lavin
Alice Hyatt
Vic Tayback
Mel Sharples
Beth Howland
Vera Louise Gorman-Novak
Polly Holliday
Florence Jean Castleberry
Celia Weston
Jolene Hunnicutt
Philip McKeon
Tommy Hyatt
Diane Ladd
Belle Dupree
Charles Levin
Elliot Novak

Season 9:

Romancing Mister Stone
Episode 1: Romancing Mister Stone (Oct 14, 1984)
Jolene and Vera play Cupid for a dateless Alice by putting an ad in a magazine's personals column.
Space Sharples
Episode 2: Space Sharples (Oct 28, 1984)
Mel gets a little spaced out after he thwarts a bank robbery while he's dressed up as Captain Galaxy for Halloween.
Big, Bad Mel
Episode 3: Big, Bad Mel (Nov 04, 1984)
Mel gets an F for buying a day school to raze for a parking lot.
Houseful of Hunnicutts
Episode 4: Houseful of Hunnicutts (Nov 18, 1984)
Jolene loves her family, but finds it too much of a good thing when her father, five brothers, grandmother and family dog park themselves in her one-bedroom apartment.
Tommy's Lost Weekend
Episode 5: Tommy's Lost Weekend (Nov 25, 1984)
Alice is worried that Tommy's partying is leading to a serious drinking problem.
Undercover Mel
Episode 6: Undercover Mel (Dec 16, 1984)
At Elliot's suggestion and lured by a $5000 reward, Mel goes undercover to smoke out rustlers selling stolen beef.
Footloose Mel
Episode 7: Footloose Mel (Dec 23, 1984)
Mel 86es a group of ""hoodlums,"" unaware that they're the break dancers expected to perform at the diner as part of an arts festival.
Vera's Anniversary Blues
Episode 8: Vera's Anniversary Blues (Jan 08, 1985)
Vera yearns for a romantic first wedding anniversary, but it gets off to anything but a romantic start and goes rapidly downhill from there.
Kiss the Grill Goodbye
Episode 9: Kiss the Grill Goodbye (Jan 15, 1985)
Jolene's appearance on the ""Working Women"" talk show does nothing to boost business at Mel's Diner.
Vera, the Nightbird
Episode 10: Vera, the Nightbird (Jan 22, 1985)
Vera's secretly moonlighting as a sultry deejay called Nightbird and she's turning on all the males in Phoenix in the process.
Alice Doesn't Work Here Anymore (1)
Episode 11: Alice Doesn't Work Here Anymore (1) (Jan 29, 1985)
A country singer takes a personel as well as professional interest in Alice and begs her to join his band on the road.
Alice Doesn't Work Here Anymore (2)
Episode 12: Alice Doesn't Work Here Anymore (2) (Feb 05, 1985)
Whether Alice likes it or not, and she's not sure, country singer Travis Marsh gives her a chance to reach for the stars in a performance with him.
The Night They Raided Debbie's
Episode 13: The Night They Raided Debbie's (Feb 06, 1985)
Answering a room-to-rent ad, Vera and Elliot's pushy landlady pushes herself and her kitschy furniture into their home and lives.
One on One
Episode 14: One on One (Mar 05, 1985)
Mel is a taskmaster in training Jolene for tryouts with a pro basketball team.
Vera's Grounded Gumshoe
Episode 15: Vera's Grounded Gumshoe (Mar 12, 1985)
After getting shot accidentally with his own gun, Elliot quits the force and looks for a career more suited to his meager talents.
Th-th-th-that's All, Folks
Episode 16: Th-th-th-that's All, Folks (Mar 19, 1985)
On the final day at the diner, Mel closes the blinds and gives away the cow creamers as the gang reminisces about the last nine years.

My Favorite

Welcome back!